The bank started out as The Hancock Deposit Bank, and received its charter in December of 1887.  The bank held its first board of directors meeting in April of 1888, and elected its members.  The directors elected W.W. Tabor as the first director of the bank. Tabor held the position until he resigned in 1908.  The Hancock Deposit Bank was the first bank located in the county.

In 1904 the Hawesville Bank opened, with John S. Adair being the president.  For 13 years these two banks competed against each other.  In 1917 the banks merged, and the name became the Hawesville Deposit Bank.  T.D. Hale served as the first president of the new bank.  In 1948 the bank acquired its present location on Main Street in Hawesville.  Hale continued as president of the bank until his death in 1954.

In 1966 the bank changed its name to Hancock Bank and Trust Company, and Lenvil R. Hall was the bank president.  Also in 1966, Hancock Bank and Trust Company opened a second location in Lewisport.

In 1972 Madisonville resident Russell Badgett Jr. purchased the controlling interest in the bank.  In 1987 the organization formed Hancock Bancorp, Inc., a bank holding company.  Also, that year the bank purchased Breckinridge Bancorp Inc., owner of Breckinridge Bank.  This acquisition gave the organization its third branch.

Breckinridge Bank of Cloverport officially merged into Hancock Bank and Trust Company.

The bank continued to experience growth, and opened a full service branch location in Madisonville in 2007 and Bowling Green in 2009.  In 2008 the bank purchased Community First Bank in Madisonville with two locations.  In 2009 the bank purchased WHB Holdings LLC, a mortgage loan company that merged into Hancock Bank and Trust later that year.

Russell Badgett Jr. passed in March of 2012.  Today, R. Steve Cox serves as President and Danny Coffey serves as Chief Executive Officer.

Over the 130 years of existence, the bank has experienced remarkable growth.